Celebrating Excellence

Established in 2006, the Saskatchewan Municipal Awards (SMA) celebrates the excellent and innovative practices of Saskatchewan’s municipal governments. The program also aims to share knowledge amongst municipalities by sharing best practices, promote cooperation and synergies between urban and rural municipalities,  and award municipal driven projects.


2021 Nominations Now Closed

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination for the 2021 Saskatchewan Municipal Awards. Stay tuned for the nomination form for the 16th annual SMA's.

Congratulations to the 15th annual Saskatchewan Municipal Award winners. You can view the videos for the winning projects below.


Latest Award Videos

2021 SMA First Place Winner
Riverhurst Wetland, Village of Riverhurst

Restoring a local wetland that will provide both environmental and economic benefits to the community.

2021 SMA Second Place Winner
Duane Lowe Community Centre, Town of Birch Hills

Transformed a vacant building into a multi-use facility to house the library, provide space for events, and bring together diverse user groups. This facility is known as the Duane Lowe Community Centre.

2021 SMA Second Place Winner
Churchbridge Community Campground, Town of Churchbridge

Developed the community campground into an asset that not only provides economic benefits through tourism but offers increased recreational opportunities for residents.

2021 SMA Third Place Winner
Jean Louis Legare Regional Park Expansion Project, RM of Willow Bunch No. 42 and Town of Willow Bunch

Undertaking a water and sewer project to support the expansion of the local regional park and enhance tourism and economic opportunities for Willow Bunch and the surrounding region.

2021 SMA Regional Cooperation Winner
South Saskatchewan Ready
RMs of Poplar Valley No. 12, Hart Butte No. 11, Willow Bunch No. 42, Bengough No. 40, and Happy Valley No. 10, and the Towns of Rockglen, Willow Bunch, Bengough, and Coronach

Created an action team to find ways and funding to diversify the local economy and mitigate the impacts of the transition away from coal fired power dependence.


Thank you to this year's program sponsor, Affinity Credit Union

Program Partners

The Saskatchewan Municipal Awards is a joint partnership between New North, the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM), the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA), the Rural Municipal Administrators’ Association (RMAA), the Urban Municipal Administrator Association of Saskatchewan (UMAAS), and

the Ministry of Government Relations.

The program is managed by SUMA, SARM, and the Ministry of Government Relations.

Colour Sask HD.png