top of page

15 Saskatchewan Municipalities Win Saskatchewan Municipal Awards in 2013

The seventh annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards program is happy to announce this year’s winners. These awards recognize innovation and excellence in Saskatchewan local governments of all types.

An independent, four-member committee made up of Murray Mandryk, political columnist for the Regina Leader-Post; Holly Hetherington, Vice President at Aplin Executive; Bob Linner, former city manager for the City of Regina; and Jim Angus, the administrator for the RM of Harris reviewed 18 nominations, covering 46 municipalities. They selected four winning projects that involved 15 municipalities.

Committee member Murray Mandryk had high praise for the program and its winners: “It’s more than an honour to have been asked to be on the Selection Committee these past seven years. It’s incredibly helpful to me to not only work with smart people like Bob and Heather and Jim but to also hear of the amazing things local governments are accomplishing.”

Winning urban municipalities received their awards on February 4, 2014 at the Queensbury Convention Centre during the annual SUMA Convention. The awards were distributed to winning rural municipalities at the SARM Midterm Convention on November 6, 2013.

Congratulations to the winners of the seventh annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards!

First Place

Harvest for Hunger

Towns and RMs of Churchbridge and Langenburg

Winning Practice: A one-day event coordinated by more than 400 volunteers, attended by roughly 6,500 people, and which raised $40,000 for the Canadian Foodgrains Bank while raising awareness about the ongoing issue of global hunger.

Second Place

Anti-Bullying Bylaw

Town of Eston

Winning Practice: An anti-bullying bylaw that can be used by the town, school, and local RCMP to educate, raise awareness, prevent bullying, and create concrete enforcement tools.

Third Place

Logan Green Water Management System

City of Yorkton

Winning Practice: An innovative, environmentally friendly, and cost-effective new water treatment plant that created 210 acres of green space while ensuring a 25-year supply of water for the city.

Regional Cooperation

Twin Lakes Community Planning Association

Towns of Carrot River, Choiceland, and Nipawin, Villages of Codette and White Fox, Resort Village of Tobin Lake, RMs of Moose Range, Nipawin, and Torch River

Winning Practice: A regional planning association that became a formal planning district, giving communities more opportunities to work together on issues of mutual interest and benefit.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page