top of page

Four Innovative Projects Recognized with Saskatchewan Municipal Awards in 2019

Four innovative projects by 30 local governments are being recognized in the 13th Annual

Saskatchewan Municipal Awards. The Saskatchewan Municipal Awards celebrate the excellent

and innovative practices of Saskatchewan’s municipal governments. This year's winners have

innovated their communities with projects that promote cooperation and synergy.

The winners of the 13th Annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards are:

First Place Sacichawasihc Relationship Agreement

City of North Battleford, Town of Battleford, Moosomin, Sweetgrass, Saulteaux, and Little Pine First Nations, and Lucky Man Cree Nation

Developed an agreement that gives municipal and Indigenous governments a way to work together in a spirit of reconciliation and collaboration through the building of government-to-government relationships.

Second Place

Emergency Medical Service Support Town of Radville, and RM’s of Laurier, The Gap, Lake Alma, Souris Valley, Surprise Valley, and Lomond

Established an EMS building, including staff lodging, to attract and retain EMS employees to improve regional EMS services.

Third Place

‘Beware the Grease Beast’ Drain Pollution Prevention Program

City of Lloydminster

Created a marketing campaign raising resident awareness of the hazards, costs, and complications resulting from drain pollution.

Regional Cooperation

Regional Asset Management and Group Learning

Villages of Broderick, Conquest, Elbow, Glenside, Kenaston, Loreburn, Strongfield and Beechy, Resort Village of Mistusinne, Towns of Central Butte, Dundurn, Hanley, and Craik, and RMs of Loreburn and Fertile Valley

Developed a regional cooperation framework to provide each municipal council with a plan to forecast asset replacement investments, to better understand revenue sources and suitability, and to communicate more effectively with community members around the state of municipal assets.

The 2019 committee members are:

  • Jim Scarrow (former Mayor of Prince Albert and former Vice-President of Cities for SUMA);

  • Don Taylor (former Board member of SARM);

  • Audrey Trombley (former President of RMAA);

  • Loretta Young (former Administrator for the RM of Longlaketon, No. 219 and the Village of Earl Grey)

  • Jeff Mulligan (managing Partner of ASTEC Group, and former Mayor of Lloydminster); and

  • Keith Schneider (former Executive Director of SUMA).

This year, the overwhelming sentiment of the selection committee was that submissions were of extremely high quality and the range of scoring across all submissions was narrow. There was also a noteworthy increase in collaborative initiatives submitted for consideration for the Saskatchewan Municipal Awards.

Awards were distributed to the winning urban municipalities and First Nations at the 115th Annual SUMA Convention in February. The winning rural municipalities received their awards at the SARM Midterm Convention in November 2019.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page