top of page

Ten Saskatchewan Municipalities win Saskatchewan Municipal Awards in 2016

The 10th annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards program is happy to announce this year’s winners. These awards recognize innovation and excellence in Saskatchewan local governments of all types.

An independent, six-member committee reviewed 15 nominations, submitted on behalf of 21 municipalities to choose the five winning projects — including a tie for third place. The committee members were:

  • Keith Schneider: former Executive Director of SUMA;

  • Ken Engel: former Executive Director of SARM;

  • Jim Scarrow: former mayor of Prince Albert and former Vice-President of Cities for SUMA;

  • Gordon Barnhart: former Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan;

  • Don Taylor: former Board member of SARM; and

  • Jeff Mulligan: managing partner of AHHA Moments Inc. and former mayor of Lloydminster.

The awards were distributed to the winning urban municipalities at SUMA Convention 2017 in February. The winning rural municipalities received their awards during SARM’s Midterm Convention in November 2016.

Congratulations to the winners of the 10th annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards!

First Place

Oil Spill and Water Crisis Response

City of Prince Albert

Activated an emergency operations centre in response to an oil spill that contaminated the source of their drinking water, the North Saskatchewan River.

Second Place

Our Humboldt Strategic Framework

City of Humboldt

Developed and implemented a framework setting out a vision and strategy for Humboldt, and used it to align policy and the budget process to the framework.

Third Place (Tie)

Highway 316 Concept Plan

RM of Blucher

Developed a comprehensive concept plan for the area that addressed infrastructure needs, existing development, future development, surface water considerations, and environmental factors.

Third Place (Tie)

Unmanned Aerial Vehicle/Laser Survey

Town of Kerrobert

Used drones and laser technology to survey the town to create an asset map and topographical map to help develop an infrastructure upgrade master plan and drainage plans.

Regional Cooperation

Wallace Creek Watershed Association Board

RMs of Sliding Hills, Wallace, Calder, Saltcoats, and Churchbridge, and the Village of Rhein

Founded a watershed association to proactively manage water resources to reduce flood damage to agricultural land, and protect private property and municipal infrastructure.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page